What are pest animals?

Pest animals are species of non-native animals that can or do cause damage to agriculture, environmental resources or put human safety at risk. Pests categorised as 'declared' means they have been 'declared as pests' by the NSW government and there are legal requirements to control these species. Under the Local Land Services Act 2013, the NSW government has declared five species of vertebrate pest animals and three species of locust, as pests. They are:

  • Rabbits
  • Wild Dogs
  • Feral Pigs
  • Foxes
  • Camels

Other known, but undeclared pest animals, meaning there is no legal requirement to control them, include:

  • Indian Myna birds and Starlings
  • Cats
  • Deer
  • Feral Bees
  • Rodent pests (Mice and Rats)

There are other species that may seem to be a pest, but they are native to Australia and Council has no requirement to control them and it is prohibited to harm them. These include:

  • Kangaroos
  • Flying Foxes
  • Termites

For more information on pests in NSW, visit The Department of Primary Industries Pest Species in NSW.

Show All Answers

1. What are pest animals?
2. Who is responsible for pest animals?
3. Who do I contact?