Go To Search
How Do I
Hunter Councils
The 11 Local Government Areas of the Hunter Valley (Cessnock, Dungog, Gloucester, Great Lakes, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Muswellbrook, Newcastle, Port Stephens, Singleton and Upper Hunter) have worked together for more than 50 years to ensure their communities benefit from positive co-operation and collaboration.

This has been achieved by:

  • Strong communication between Mayors, Councillors and General Managers;
  • Shared professional expertise through staff forums; and
  • Many inter-council collaborative projects.

The goodwill established has underpinned the success of Hunter Councils as the lead organisation in resource sharing. With the ever increasing pressure on Local Government to do more with less, Hunter Councils is striving to reduce the cost of “doing business” for Local Government through offering economies and efficiencies. This has supported the development and growth of the following strategic unit divisions of Hunter Councils:

These services are also available to other Councils, government agencies and private companies. Not only does this provide access to specialist and economical services but also provides an opportunity for clients to contribute to the regional community through strengthening the model and reducing the costs of services to Local Government.

For more information see Hunter Councils

Singleton Council
PO Box 314 Singleton NSW 2330
Ph: 02 6578 7290